What Does The Red X Mean On Snapchat?

Friday, February 24, 2017
Snapchat's recent update has users asking: What does the red X mean on Snapchat? There are several red X's shown on the app.  This article will cover each one.  The first red X this article will detail is used to delete content.  The second red X confirms when you block a friend from viewing your content.

Delete Audio Or Video Notes By Dragging The Camera Button The The Red X

Snapchat recently added Audio and Video Notes.  Video Notes enable users to send 10-second max, thumbnail videos in Chat.  The video plays audio when the recipient taps the Note.  To record a Video Note, hold the camera button.  Don't let go of the camera button while you record your Video Note.

If your let go of the camera button while recording your Video Note, the file will send.  If you record a video you don't like keep holding the camera button and drag it to the red X.

When You Block Friends From Seeing Your Story You'll See A Red Box With A X

After you select the 'View My Story' option on Snapchat you can select specific people that have the ability to see your story.  You can choose 'Everyone' to make your story available to anyone on Snapchat, including users you're not friends with.  You can choose 'My Friends' if you only want to grant your friends access to your content.

Finally, you can choose 'Custom' to select specific users to block from your Snapchat story.  As you select users to block, you'll see a red box with a X.



Empire In Your Inbox

* indicates required